Picture
Sure, snow and freezing temperatures are fun in December, but once January rolls around, I'm completely done. Ice and snow become my enemy, and I start dreaming about white sand and clear water. Well apparently mother nature had other plans. Because for the past two weeks it has been nothing but freezing cold. And my body hates it more than I do. My lips are so chapped I can barley talk, my hands start cracking they're so dry, and my goosebumps seem to stay on my body 24-7. Here are a couple of tips and tricks I've pretty much mastered over the years that make the brutal winters in New England (or wherever else you live according to the current weather patterns) more bearable.


1. Lip balm: I'm pretty sure every mother in the world has told their child at least once to put on lip balm so their lips don't chap. It's a cliche, but totally true. Nothing is worse then when your lips are so dry opening up your mouth to talk becomes a painful task. My favorite lip balm is the Burts-Bees soothing/cooling lip balm ($2.99 found at most drug stores). It is the most effective lip balm i've tried, it is all natural, and doesn't smell like chemicals and food coloring. 

2. Believe it or not, hair can become just as dried out as your lips in the cold. Your ends can split and your hair can loose its natural luster and shine, which is NEVER any fun. My biggest recommendation for your hair is Biosilk. Biosilk is a natural hair product that increases shine and prevents split ends. Sure, it is a little pricy at $12.99 for a small and $30.99 for a large found at many drugstores, but honestly, it is totally worth it. 

3. Baby Lotion: Baby lotion is very underrated, but it can solve so many problems. It can make your skin smell really good, it can take the eyeliner off your eye with a blink of an eye, and it can make your hands so smooth you think they're water. Sure, maybe I'm exaggerating a tiny bit, but the truth is baby lotion is the perfect remedy for dry skin, (2.99 found at most drugstores) 

4. WARM CLOTHES: It is truly unbelievable how much warmer wearing insulated socks can be compared to regular socks. Sure, sweatshirts, sweatpants, etc. are no brainers, but other things like wearing fleece lined leggings instead of Victoria's Secret leggings can make a HUGE difference. There are tons of fleece lined jeans, thermal shirts, "fuzzy" socks, and other specifically made for winter clothing items that have the power to change your temperature drastically. My favorite places to shop for these products include Lululemon, Nike, Patagonia, Vineyard Vines, and believe it or not, Etsy. Just try swapping out one of your regular clothing items for an insulated or fleece lined option, and you will never go back. 

5. Lastly, but certainly not least, my number one top essential for suviving the winter cold is a space heater. If you live in the north and you do not own a space heater, you are missing out on true love. My space heater goes everywhere with me, from my bathroom when I get ready in the morning (the tile floors and wet washcloths can be FREEZING!), to my bed. Based on the certain model you have and the size of your bedroom, space heaters take only about 20-30 minutes on average to raise the temperature in your room three degrees. And that is a lot cheaper then oil or a gas fireplace. Trust me. 

Thank you for reading this post, hope this was helpful in learning how to survive the brutal cold, and make sure you check back everyday for new posts! 

Sydney 




1/28/2014 10:39:08 pm

Love this post! I'm getting hit hard by the "Polar Vortex" too and I am definitely going to try insulated socks!

A few other tips that help me a ton are a heated blanket on your bed and Vaseline! I turn the heated blanket on about 20 minutes before I get in bed, and by the time I crawl in its perfectly warm and banishes all the night-time chills. Vaseline might sound old school, but old school WORKS! I use a little on my hands when they are especially dry and it keeps them smooth and protected!

Loving your blog, keep it going!
Kate
upnorthinjuly.weebly.com

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Sydney

    Hi, I'm Sydney! I run Properly Made, a blog all about fashion, food, and DIY tips. 

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All