Picture
  When I was a little girl, earrings were my favorite thing. Although I only owned three pairs that rested in my mothers top dresser drawer in an organizer (where all of her three daughters expensive and easily lost jewelry went) I wore them everywhere. My first pair were a pair of little white snowflake earrings that hung about a quarter of an inch past my ear. I remember sneaking into my mothers dresser when she was downstairs cooking dinner to sneak a peek at them. To say I was entirely enchanted with the beautiful white and glittery snowflakes would be a vast understatement. The next pair of earrings I got, when I was about seven, were a pair of small dangly turquoise ball shaped earrings. My best friend and I went to the dollar store, picked out the prettiest earrings we could find (mine were pink balls with intertwining silver wire), put them in a plastic ziplock bag, and then switched. We switched the pairs of earrings through ziplock bags for about a month, got tired of the game, and stopped switching every four days. I was left with my best friends blue ball shaped earrings, even though I secretly liked my own pick better. I kept them for a long time in a plastic bag labled "switch" with the date and my name (written by my best friends mother) on my coark board, and I never wore them again. Not even once. The last pair of earrings (and my personal favorite) I obtained as a child (about eight years old) were a pair of extremely beautiful dangly and sparkly silver earrings. Although I rarely wore these (they always seemed to clash with my vintage and signature logo tees and tap shoes), they were some of the prettiest earrings I have ever had, even to this day. 

 After I turned ten, and I outgrew the "earrings every day" stage of my life, I never seemed to find myself wearing earrings, only putting them in once a month or so, so my holes didn't close up. Even when my mother would buy me earrings, they would just sit in her top dresser drawer in the organizer collecting dust. Back then I thought earrings were for immature fools. I was ten. 

 When I turned 16, my friends and I planned a trip to NYC. One of the first places we stopped, naturally, was the extremely large Forever 21 in time square, where after looking through the four floors of beautiful jewelry and clothes, I picked out my first pair of earrings (small studded pink flowers) in six years. After that, I was hooked. I suddenly found myself relying on earrings to tie together my outfits, and before I knew it I was buying them in every store I went in (especially forever 21). Now, I wear earrings almost every single day, and I have a variety of studs and small dangly earrings (my favorite store to get them is still Forever 21- where all the earrings in the picture above were purchased-). When I was ten, I never would have imagined loving earrings as much as I do now, and they have quickly become a staple in a large number of my outfits. Here are my favorite places to purchase earrings, and I hope you can use them as a reference of good stores to shop for your earrings. And one more thing, even if you don't wear earrings, I would recommend getting an inexpensive pair to try out. You'll never know if your missing out on something great until you try it for yourself!

Recommended shops: 

- Forever 21: For any small and inexpensive pastel, flowery, or wild and "out there" earrings. They are also a great place to shop for dupes of expensive earrings, and a good place to try out a pair of earrings that you are willing to spend the money on at a more expensive shop, but want to see if you truly like first.

- J.Crew: For any pearl earrings 

- Marleylilly.com: For any monogrammed earrings ( The prices are affordable and they are very good with customer service if you have a problem.) 

- Etsy.com:  For any earrings you might want with a homemade special touch, or really any earrings you can not find in a store (Most of the people on Etsy are very talented and can make anything you request, but make sure to read the customer reviews first!) 

Lilly Pulitzer: Although they usually only have a few pairs of earrings at a time on their website, the ones they do sell are very unique and pretty with a classic or timeless look. 

Tiffany and Co: Although this particular source might be a given, I had to mention it. It is just about the perfect destination for any stunning,  subtle, or more sophisticated earrings. 

Thanks for reading and make sure to come back for more posts! 

- Sydney 





Leave a Reply.

    Sydney

    Hi, I'm Sydney! I run Properly Made, a blog all about fashion, food, and DIY tips. 

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All